2020 Brass in Concert – Report and Results

Churchill Silver Band

The Brass Band League (NI) returned to the Fivemiletown on Friday 6th March and Saturday 7th March to stage their ever popular Brass in Concert event  in the Valley Hotel.

Friday Night

The Friday night concert featured 6 local bands showing off their talents for a very appreciative audience. The bands featured were Tempo Silver Band, Enniskillen Royal Grammar School, Ballyreagh Silver Band, Churchill Silver Band, St Mary’s Silver Band and Murley Silver Band.  It was a lovely, relaxed event and a fantastic start to the weekend!

Saturday Morning

 St Mark’s Silver Band started off the day strong with their first foray back into contesting in the 4th section, followed swiftly by Poyntzpass Silver Band.  Poyntzpass went home with first place in music and entertainment, Best March for Hartonian and their Euphonium Soloist James Shaw took home the Best Soloist prize for his rendition of Grandfather’s Clock.

Clean sweep for Dynamic Brass

Dynamic Brass achieved a clean sweep in the 3rd section, top placed for music and entertainment, Best March for On the Quarterdeck and Best Soloist for their principal cornet David Johnson’s rendition of the classic Spanish Eyes.

Dynamic Brass

Clean Sweep for Roughan Silver Band

Roughan Silver Band also achieved a clean sweep in the 2nd section, top placed for music and entertainment and Best March for Cornish Cavilier.  Andrew Gordon, their principal cornet, won the Best Soloist for his beautiful playing of the lovely slow melody, Share my Yoke.

Downshire Brass

Rousing Close

 After a short break the Championship bands brought the day to a rousing close. 1st Old Boys band won the overall prize in the section and their trombone player Nathan Moore took home the Best Soloist prize for his performance of Blessed Assurance.  Downshire Brass achieved the award for Most Entertaining Band and Laganvale (Metal Technology) Band won the Best March prize for their rendition of The Contester.

The Brass Band League would like to take this opportunity to thank Greg Williamson and the staff at Valley Hotel, Fivemiletown, for the huge amount of effort they put in to hosting the event. We would also like to thank our music adjudicator Gary Davies and our entertainment adjudicator Lisa Clarke along with our compère Ken McFarland.

The Brass Band League would also like to offer their congratulations to all prize winners and thanks to all participating bands for a fine weekend of music making.

Results in Full


Championship Section

1.   1st Old Boys Silver Band (Stephen Cairns) 10/8=18
2. Laganvale (Metal Technology) Band (Keith Anderson) 9/9=18
3. Downshire Brass (Michael Alcorn) 7/10=17
Third Carrickfergus Silver Band (Brian Connolly) 8/7=15
Strabane Brass Band (Charles Fyffe) 6/6=12
Murley Silver Band (David Hawthorne) 5/5=10  

Most Entertaining Band: Downshire Brass
Best March: Laganvale (Metal Technology) Band (The Contestor)
Best Soloist: Nathan Moore (1st Old Boys’ Silver Band)

Second Section
1. Roughan Silver Band (Stephen Crooks) 10/10=20
2. Wellington Memorial Silver Band (David Hawthorne) 9/8=17
CWA Brass (Paul Hamilton) 7/9=16
Comber Silver Band (Wesley Thompson) 8/7=15

Most Entertaining Band: Rougan Silver Band
Best March: Rougan Silver Band (Cornish Cavilier)
Best Soloist: Andrew Gordon (Roughan Silver Band)  

Third Section
1. Dynamic Brass (Andrew McQuiggan) 10/10=20
2. Dungannon Silver Band (Boris Pinto) 9/9=18

Most Entertaining Band: Dynamic Brass
Best March: Dynamic Brass (On the Quarterdeck)
Best Soloist: David Johnson (Dynamic Brass)  

Fourth Section
1. Poyntzpass Silver Band (Bobby Davidson) 10/10=20
St Mark’s Silver Band (Bob Quick)

Most Entertaining Band: Poyntzpass Silver Band
Best March: Poyntzpass Silver Band (Hartonian)
Best Soloist: James Shaw (Poyntzpass Silver Band)